An interview with a very humble and creative GAISE!!!

Utilising a rich blend of witty rhymes, Yoruba lyrics, sound positive content and a unique style of delivery. His music appeals to all generations and he is  often described as a ‘breath of fresh air’ in the Nigerian Music Industry.We caught up with the humble artist GAISE who told us more about himself and his music.

Tell us about GAISE?

Gaise (42 of 118)Gboluwaga Akinade IBUOYE popularly known as GAISE is an Afrofusion artiste signed on to Sanctified Records Ltd.I am a KC old boy, studied Economics at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife where I  graduated with a Second Class Upper degree. I became a professional music artiste in 2010. My album, GAISEBABE was released in August 2011 and this introduced me into the music scene as a singer/songwriter with lyrical dexterities and prowess.

The GAISEBABA album was accompanied by the video for its lead single “Follow Follow” which was nominated for the Best Indigenous Concept at the Nigerian Music Video Awards 2011 and for Best Video at The Africa Entertainment Awards 2012 in Malaysia, while I won The Scepters Award for New Revelation in 2011.

I  released another video off the album in March 2012 for “The Movie Song” (directed by DJ Tee),

I  recently released two new singles (“Dobale” and “Awa O Tush Oh”) in October 2012.

I ve performed in several shows including the first ever Ekiti Mega Fiesta in December 2011 where I performed alongside Tuface and Sasha. MTN Record Breakers Summit (Feb 2012), Glo Laftafest Ado-Ekiti (April 2012), Felabration (October 2011), Cool FM Praise Jam (December 2011), Hip Hop World Award Nominees’ Party, Premier FM Ibadan 10th anniversary Celebrations and the Pepsi Campus Tour among others.

So how has it been so far in the music business?

Its been great. So far so good, we thank God for continuous progress

Describe your kind of music and what makes your music unique?

My content; the emphasis that I lay on the depth & clarity of my message. And of course; my ‘awaotushoh’ factor; I write & sing with my mother tongue- yoruba, a whole lot!

What challenges have you faced being a musician?

Promotion; getting your songs out for  people to hear.

Who are your biggest influences generally?

There are artistes who I have been inspired by their work, at different points in my journey, in a little way or another, a few of such are Da’Truth, Ebenezer Obey, Kayode Fashola, and K’ore.

What inspires you to write or do you have anyone that writes for you?

By God’s grace I am the one who writes my songs. God is the source of all my inspiration, though it comes via various mediums/channels

What was the first event you ever played at?

Young Disciples International’s Camp Joseph, December 28, 2003!

DSC_4236Ever thought of quitting?

Yes. As with most successful ventures, there are times when you want to give up, but persistence and commitment always pay off. thank God I didn’t give in to those thoughts.

Who would you like to collaborate with in future? K’ore, Asa and maybe 2face.

Tell us about your fresh single?

‘Little Drops’ is about Nigeria and Nigerians. About how it is our various deeds & actions as Nigerians that determine & lead to the state our nation, Nigeria is in.

little drops album art

Are you planning on touring anytime soon?

No immediate plans but that’s certainly in the works.

Any great plans before 2013 roll over?

We’ll be promoting the new single – Little Drops, as well as the video for AwaOTushOh which is due to be released.

 Any parting word here for your fans?

I’ll like to thank every single person that likes and appreciates my work and ask that you drop a comment on any of my social network

Pages:Facebook: Gaise and Twitter: @gaisebaba 

Links to his songs

AWA O TUSH OH- http://bit.ly/awaotushoh

DOBALE- http://bit.ly/gaisedobale

Watch his video: Follow Follow

Leave a comment