EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: JEWELRY DESIGNER, SONGWRITER AND KUCHI KUCHI SINGER, JODIE!!!

all 471 copyJoy Odiete sang the popular song Oh baby, oh baby. This song easily rates as one of the best songs that rocked the air waves 2 years ago in Nigeria. We recently had the pleasure of talking with the down to earth and talented songwriter, JODIE

So what have you been up to?

I have been learning and growing – it’s been fulfilling.

Can you share some of the success stories so far with your hit single “Kuchi Kuchi”?

Many inspiring stories have been shared by fans, friends and family via different social media or in person about how the song brought about reconciliation to a sore relationship; how it serves as a lullaby to babies – soothing cries or gradually causing babies to fall asleep; how old women in the village sing the song with excitement; how it brings joy whenever it is heard. The stories are countless and humbling. I see myself as a “keeper” of this gift – I, however, occasionally wonder “Why me?” and I say this with a deep sense of gratitude.

Your dad is a Bishop and you are the choir leader at your local church, how did you manage to convince your family you are not tagging your style of music “Gospel”?

The kind of music I do should be enjoyed by everyone. Kuchi Kuchi, for example, is a song portraying a mother-child love. I believe that people of other religions, or even the ones who practice none, have babies too.
Having said this, I hold-high godly principles – the fact that my album isn’t religious simply depicts my “roundedness” – Christians get married, have children, face the same economic issues other people face. My album is an expression of some things humans experience.

all 227 copyDo you think that would’ve affected the way people accept you?

For some people, “yes”. For others, “no” or “not really”. I, however, place premium on my close circle – family, friends and, most of all, me. It is important that one is at peace with oneself – that is a high and important level of acceptance. Other people’s acceptance is very useful, since it may keep one in check, but it is a dangerous thing to live solely for other people’s acceptance. This is my view.


JOD 176
How has your fame affected your church activities?

If I don’t have an engagement out of town, I usually go to church and participate in my department – music

You have made a promising impression with your first album, how do you intend to keep it that way going forward?

By staying diligent. “Seest thou a man diligent in his business? He shall stand before kings; he shall not stand before mean men.” – Proverbs 22:29

What inspires you to write or do you have anyone that writes for you?

Life is inspiring – there’s a lot to write about. For example, people have been writing love-songs for ages: people are still writing now: people will still write about love. That’s just one concept out of countless other themes to write about. Inspiration abounds, just open your eyes, ears and heart.
All the songs I have released so far were written by me. I am, however, open to songs written by others, but they would have to be “a collector’s item”.

What do you enjoy doing the most when you are not performing or working on your music?

I enjoy bead-making a lot. However, this period, I have been enjoying reading more. Dr. Seuss said “the more things you know, the more places you’ll go.”

Jodie on stageWhat type of event do you love to perform at?

A proper concert. Proper would mean the sound, lighting and other technicalities that can enhance stage performance are not overlooked or rushed. In Nigeria, sadly, most events are not properly planned.

Some songs were banned from airplay in Nigeria by NBC, what is your take on that?

I have nothing to say about it.

Do you have any song in your album that you’ll have loved to change?

No. This is not because I like them all on the same level, but because certain songs I thought were not good enough are other people’s favorites.

Jodie albumWhat should we be looking for from you in the nearest future?

They are still in “the womb” and I happen to be the secretive type.

Any parting word here for your fans home and abroad?

Thank you for taking out time to express your appreciation towards me. I read them and they make a world of difference. I’m not always in high-spirits 24/7, 365, and that’s the fact, but your words are like a glass of cold water to a thirsty man coming from a long journey under the sun.

Thank you, once again.

Watch her videos – SUGAR COCONUT and KUCHI KUCHI

VIDEO: SUGAR COCONUT

 

VIDEO: KUCHI KUCHI

2 thoughts on “EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: JEWELRY DESIGNER, SONGWRITER AND KUCHI KUCHI SINGER, JODIE!!!”

Leave a comment