POPULAR NIGERIAN MUSICIAN,OBIORA OBIWON IS BACK

obiwon1The R’n’B-singer-turned-urban-gospel-minister Obiora Nwokolobia-Agu announced a full-time gospel music ministry in 2008, following through in 2009 with his sophomore and first gospel album “The Rebirth”. Since then he has consistently impacted the events and gospel music scene with the new sound and “The Rebirth Band”.

The sophomore album became noted for the praise song “F.a.t.h.e.r” and mostly for producing the hit wedding anthem “Obi Mu O”. His 2006 debut “Overture” previously produced the classic ballad “Onyinye”, garnering vocal performance awards at the Nigerian Music Awards and the acclaimed HipHop World Awards both in 2007. Subsequently he also received honours at the 2013 National Gospel Awards for his crossover act, an indication of the growing acceptance of his faith-based transition.

After a 4-year major release hiatus, Obiora Obiwon returns in 2013 with a techno-infused HipHop song entitled “Testify”. The uptempo praise record blazes the trail for the release of a long awaited third album, entitled “Gold Water”.

Read our exclusive interview with Obiora Obiwon:

So where have you been [we don’t want to conclude it’s because you now have 2 beautiful girls at home]?

Lol. I’ve been involved in music ministry, which is quite different from how I started out. It requires time to grow in, basically for God to remould and equip one appropriately for the journey. My wife and daughter I believe form part of that equipping and having them in my life totally complements my call and what I do.

obi5

What’s it like being a dad?

Hmmm. It’s mostly the sense of responsibility that the little innocent one totally depends on what you do or don’t do, not just as aid to her physical development, but for her mental, emotional, social and spiritual growth. Directing all that requires dedicated time, then you realise how much you’re limited in all this without the help of your Heavenly Father and lean entirely on Him for guidance. Apart from that the joy and happiness shared with your little one in every milestone, fun games, smiles and laughter are totally priceless.

So how do we describe your kind of music now?

Urban or Contemporary Gospel Music

One of your all time great is “Obi mu o”, tell us what inspired you to write the song?

I had just met my wife and was convinced 3 days later she was the one.  Six months into getting to know each other I wanted to sing about what I was convinced of in my spirit and it flowed naturally using her middle name “Obioma”. I recorded it and it became a hit the following year. We got married four years after we first met.

Which songs do you perform most frequently?

It depends on the event. Obi Mu O of course makes the list for weddings along with my other gospel songs and love songs. For christian events which we frequent more, the band I mostly do F.a.t.h.e.r 2.0, Testify, Pour Your Love which as yet is unreleased, along with our own versions of praise/worship medleys.

obi6
What is your “not-so-great” from all your songs?

Lol. There are many of them to be mentioned, mostly from my initial efforts and records. Also some people still cherish some of them and I wouldn’t want to do a spoiler.

What inspires you to write or do you have anyone that writes for you?

I’m blessed to write my songs and have melody and lyrics come naturally to me. Some songs I hear in a dream and wake up singing. First time that  happened as a young chap I was scared till my Dad said it was alright as he used to experience same. Others come while I’m worshipping, others while busy with some chore, some from personal experiences.

obi4Which of your songs is your wife’s most favourite?

She says Obi Mu O will always be her all time favourite but right now she very into Testify.

Do you really think it made any difference after tagging your songs Gospel?

Gospel is not a tag for me so to say. It’s who I became after I encountered Christ and got saved. So everything became about Him and no longer about me. So it’s not the same persona or same outlook or ambitions I had when I did my debut album, it’s about my life now, being in the background for God’s name to be glorified and for lives to be transformed, like mine was. It’s living for something way much bigger and powerful than myself. So being identified as gospel yields control and the talent to the Owner of the course and makes my point of view plain on any song, whether a ballad or inspirational or straight praise and worship music and in whatever genre, Pop, HipHop, Electro and so on. I see myself as a music missionary and the aim is to bring the good news of the beautiful life I’ve been given to all humanity through music.

What do you enjoy doing the most when you are not performing or working on your music?

Spending time with wifey, playing with my daughter, studying and learning.

testify

Tell us about your “sizzling” new single “TESTIFY”

Well like we say it’s HipHop meets Fuji meets Electronic music and a fun way to share my convictions. It was supposed to be a support song to a major song I wanted to work on in the studio but it came out so strong we just had to focus on it.

When is the Video hitting the screen!?

We plan to focus on videos after we release the album in November, but anything can still happen.

obi7Any great plans before 2013 roll over?

Majorly releasing the entire album which is entitled “Gold Water”

Any parting word here for your fans home and abroad?

Thanks for your loyal love and support!

Thanks for being a good model out here!!!

Thank you for having me on your platform.

Link to his new single: Testify

http://www.hulkshare.com/ca8w70cy14hs

VIDEO: F.a.t.h.e.r 2.0 Remix (ft. Madarocka, Tbos, Recky D)

 

5 thoughts on “POPULAR NIGERIAN MUSICIAN,OBIORA OBIWON IS BACK”

Leave a comment